Society Overview

OFSDS Society

the Orissa Forestry sector development Society is register under Societies Act bearing registration no 22321/49 of 2006-07 by the Registrar of Societies, Odisha at Cuttack.

With an objective to facilitate smooth implementation of the forestry project in the state, it has been considered expedient and necessary to constitute a society, namely, "Odisha Forestry Sector Development Society" as an autonomous organization under the administrative control of the Government of Odisha, Forest & Environment Department. The Society will have necessary operational flexibility and subject to the overall directions and control of the State Government. Constitution of the Society: The Society shall be called "Odisha Forestry Sector Development Society". The registered office of the society will function at SFTRI Campus, Ghatikia, Bhubaneswar, Dist Khurda. Its area of operation will be whole of Odisha and it t may also participate in research and consultancy activities outside Odisha.

The General Body of the Society comprises of all members of the Society i.e., members of HPC, members of Governing Body and Heads of all Divisional Management Units who have subscribed to the Memorandum of the Society. The General Body is supposed to meet at least once in a year to discuss the affairs of the society and to adopt annual report of the society. Further, there are HPC and Governing Body of the Society in the management of affairs of the society.

Governing Body

Governing Body (GB): Governing Body will be chaired by an Additional Chief Secretary cum Agriculture Production Commissioner (APC). The members of GB will meet quarterly or earlier. The composition of GB will be as below

Composition of GB

ChairpersonAdditional Chief Secretary cum APC
Member Principal Secretary, DoF&E
Member PCCF Orissa OFD
Member PCCF Wildlife OFD
Member Special Secretary, DoF&E
Member NGO Represntative (PD's Nominee)
Member Secretary Project Director, OFSDP

High Power Committee

High Power Committee (HPC): HPC will be responsible for facilitating inter-departmental and inter-program coordination for required synergy, convergence and for minimizing duplication of efforts. It will have authority to approve the Operations Manual. The members of HPC will meet bi-annually or earlier. The composition of HPC will be as below.

Composition of HPC

ChairpersonChief Secretarty
Vice-chairmanAdditional Chief Secretary cum APC (Agriculture Production Commissioner)
Member Principal Secretary, DoF&E
Member Principal Secretary, Finance Department
Member Principal Secretary, Revenue Department
Member Principal Secretary, Panchayati Raj Department
Member Principal Secretary, ST/SC Development Department
Member PCCF Orissa OFD
Member Special Secretary, DoF&E
Member Special Secretary, Planning and Coordination Department
Member Secretary Project Director, OFSDP